The FIFA World Cup:

FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup, often simply called the World Cup, is an international association football competition contested by the senior men’s national teams of the members of the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body. The championship has been awarded every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held because of the Second World War. The current champions in France, which won its second title at the 2018 tournament in Russia.

The FIFA World Cup Qatar

The current format of the competition involves a qualification phase, which currently takes place over the preceding three years, to determine which teams qualify for the tournament phase, which is often called the World Cup Finals. After this, 32 teams, including the automatically qualifying host nation (S) over a period of about a month.

The 21 World Cup tournament has been won by eight national teams. Brazils have won five times, and they are the only team to have played in every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four titles each; Uruguay, with two titles each; and England and Spain with one title each.

 21 World Cup tournament

The World Cup is the most prestigious association football tournament in the world, as well as the most widely viewed and followed sporting event in the world, as well as the most widely viewed and followed sporting event in the world, exceeding even in the Olympic Games; the Cumulative viewership of all matched of the 2006 World Cup was estimated to be 26.29 billion with an estimated 717.1 million people watching the final match, a ninth of the entire population of the planet.

World Cup

17 countries have hosted the World Cup, Brazil, France, Italy, Germany and Mexico have each hosted twice, while Uruguay, Switzerland, Sweden, Chile, England, Argentina, Spain the United States, Japan and South Korea (Jointly), South Africa and Russia have each hosted once. Qatar is planned as hosts of the 2022 finals, and 2026 will be jointly hosted by Canada, the United States, and Mexico, which will give Mexico the distinction of being the first country to have hosted games in three finals.

Countries to have hosted the World Cup

Selection Process:

Early World Cups were given to countries at meetings of FIFA’s congress. The locations were controversial because South  America and Europe were by far the two centers of strength in football and travel between them required three weeks by boat. The decision to hold the second of these in France was disputed, as the South American countries understood that the location would alternate between the two continents. Both Argentina and Uruguay thus boycotted the 1938 FIFA World Cup.

Selection Process in the World Cup

The host country is now chosen in a vote by FIFA’s council. This is done under an exhaustive ballot system. The national football association of a country desiring to host the event receives a “Hosting Agreement” from FIFA, which explains the steps and requirements that are expected from a strong bit. The decision on who will host the World Cup is usually made for six or seven years in advance of the tournament. However, there have been occasions where the hosts of multiple future tournaments were announced at the same time, as was the case for the 2018 and 2022 World Cups, which were awarded to Russia and Qatar, with Qatar becoming the First Middle Eastern country to host the tournament.

FIFA’s council

The 2026 FIFA World Cup was chosen to be held in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, marking the first time a World Cup has been shared by three host nations. The 2026 tournament will be the biggest World Cup has ever held, with 48 teams playing 80 matches. Sixty matches will take place in the U.S., including all matches from the quarter-finals onward, while Canada and Mexico will host 10 games each.

2026 FIFA World Cup

2015 FIFA Corruption Case:

By May 2015, the games were under a particularly dark cloud because of the 2015 FIFA corruption case, allegations and criminal charges of bribery, fraud and money laundering to corrupt the issuing of media and marketing rights for FIFA games, with FIFA officials accused of taking bribes totalling more than $150 million over 24 years. In late May, the U.S. Department of Justice announced a 47-court indictment with charges of racketeering, wire fraud and money laundering conspiracy against 14 people. Arrests of over a dozen FIFA officials were made since that time, particularly on 29 May and 3 December. By the end of May 2015, a total of nine FIFA officials and five executives of sports and broadcasting markets had already been charged on corruption. At the time, FIFA president Sepp Blatter announced he would relinquish his position in February 2016.

2015 FIFA Corruption Case

On 3 December 2015, two FIFA Vice-Presidents were arrested on suspicion of bribery in the same Zurich hotel where seven FIFA officials had been arrested in May. An additional 16 indictments by the US Department of Justice were announced on the same day.


  • Highest goal scorer in the FIFA World Cup is  Miroslav Klose
  • Highest ChampionshipWinner is Brazil


Records and Awards
  • The Golden Ball is given to the Best Player, determined by a vote of media members.
  • The Golden Boot / Shoe is given to the Top goalscorer Player
  • The Golden Glove Award is given to the Best Goalkeeper, decided by the FIFA Technical Study.
  • The Best Young Player Award for the best player aged 21 or younger at the start of the calendar year, decided by the FIFA Technical Study Group.
  • The FIFA Fair Play Trophy for the team with the best record of fair play, according to the points system and criteria.
  • The Most Entertaining Team for the team that has entertained the public the most during the World Cup, determined by a poll of the general public.

4 thoughts on “The FIFA World Cup:

  1. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a blog web site? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  2. Thanks for the advice on credit repair on this particular web-site. Some tips i would advice people would be to give up the actual mentality they will buy currently and pay later. Like a society most people tend to repeat this for many factors. This includes getaways, furniture, and items we’d like. However, you’ll want to separate a person’s wants out of the needs. As long as you’re working to raise your credit ranking score you have to make some trade-offs. For example you may shop online to economize or you can go to second hand stores instead of costly department stores intended for clothing.

  3. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to fresh updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  4. I simply want to mention I am new to blogging and honestly liked your website. Very likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You surely have amazing articles. With thanks for revealing your web page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.